‘I AM HE’ Does that really make Jesus (pbuh) God?

A Christian I recently got into discussion with asserted that Jesus (pbuh) claimed divinity by saying ‘I am he’, the same three words that God apparently said in Isaiah 41:4 (Bible).

We read in the Bible: “Jesus therefore, knowing all things that should come upon him, went forth, and said unto them, Whom seek ye? They answered him, Jesus of Nazareth. Jesus saith unto them, I am he. And Judas also, which betrayed him, stood with them. As soon then as he had said unto them, I am he, they went backward, and fell to the ground. Then asked he them again, Whom seek ye? And they said, Jesus of Nazareth. Jesus answered, I have told you that I am he: if therefore ye seek me, let these go their way.”[1]

In short: some soldiers and officials from the chief priests and Pharisees were looking for Jesus (pbuh) but not knowing how to recognise him. Jesus (pbuh) asked these individuals who they were looking for, they replied: “Jesus of Nazareth”. To confirm that he was Jesus of Nazareth, Jesus (pbuh) then replied: “I am he”. There is no other explanation if we read in context.

In Isaiah 41:4, by saying: ‘I am he’ God is confirming that He is the Lord and He is the First and the Last. In John 18:4-8, by saying: ‘I am he’; Jesus (pbuh) is confirming that he is Jesus of Nazareth. Very different from what was said in Isaiah 41:4.

Claiming divinity by saying ‘I am he’ is a very unclear statement and I as a Muslim believe God is not the author of confusion which is also a teaching in the Bible[2]. Just because Jesus (pbuh) said the same three words as God said, it doesn’t make Jesus (pbuh) God.

If Jesus (pbuh) is God because he said the same word that God said, then why not apply this logic to anyone else that did or said the same thing that God said or did in the Bible? For example: God begat Jesus (pbuh)[3], Abraham also begat is son Isaac (pbut). Now does that make Abraham God? God begot a son and so did Abraham (pbuh) beget a son, of course not, these are not the standards of judging.

The question: Is Jesus (pbuh) God? Can be answered by asking a counter question: Did Jesus ever confess to be god? Did he ever say ‘I am God’ or ‘worship me’? And if we read the Bible, we will see that Jesus while he walked this earth, never made such claims.

References 

[1] John 18:4

[2] 1 Corinthians 14:33

[3] John 3:16

5 thoughts on “‘I AM HE’ Does that really make Jesus (pbuh) God?

    • As I wrote in beginning of the article: “SOME Christians assert that Jesus (pbuh) claimed divinity by saying ‘I am he’, the same three words that God apparently said in Isaiah 41:4 (Bible).”

      No I am not mixed up with John 8:58, I recognize the difference between John 8:58 and John 18:4. By Allah’s will, I will try to write an article on John 8:58.

      Now if you agree with me that Jesus (pbuh) never claimed divinity by saying ‘I am he’ in John 18:4 then welcome on board. On the other hand if you don’t agree, then we have a reason to debate on this topic.

      Just because you haven’t heard this argument, it doesn’t imply that Christians don’t use it.

      But first let us finish our original debate on the Comforter.

      Like

Leave a Reply

